Archaeological Park of the Aeolian Islands

Le Aeolian Islands also known as the Lipari Islands, they are an archipelago of volcanic origin, located in the Tyrrhenian Sea, in the province of Messina, north of the Sicilian coast. They include two active volcanoes, Stromboli and Vulcano, as well as various secondary volcanism phenomena. The archipelago is made up of the following islands: Alicudi, Filicudi, Lipari, Panarea, Salina and Stromboli. The islands were included in the Unesco World Heritage List in December 2005, during the 24th annual meeting of the UNESCO World Heritage Committee, which took place in Cairns in Australia (27 November - 2 December 2000.

The Constituent Archaeological Park of the Aeolian Islands will soon be established pursuant to regional law 20/2000. In the meantime, the area of ​​the park that affects four islands of the Archipelago (Lipari, Salina, Panarea and Filicudi) and falls within the territories of the municipalities of Lipari has been identified with the Decree of 19 October 2017 of the Sicilian Department of Heritage and Identity. , Santa Marina Salina, Malfa and Leni.

Lipari Island

Regional Archaeological Museum "Luigi Bernabò Brea"

The fortress of the Castle of Lipari or Acropolis of Lipari

Civita Hill

Contrada Diana

San Calogero thermal baths

Island of Panarea

Punta Milazzo

Detached section of the Archaeological Museum of Lipari

Filicudi Island

Plan of the Port

Montagnola of Capo Graziano

Detached section of the Archaeological Museum of Lipari

Salina Island

Pond of Lingua

Contrada Baron

Archaeological area of ​​Portella




Courses cmx200 



Aeolian Islands Archaeological Park


© Helios Study Center

Archaeological Sicily

Share / Share

Leave a Reply