Maltese fortifications

The fortifications of Malta consist of a series of walled cities, citadels, fortresses, towers, batteries, redoubts, trenches and forts. The fortifications were built over a period of thousands of years from the XNUMXth century BC to the XNUMXth century.

Classification based on type:

  • Walled cities and citadels
  • Forti
  • Dice Towers
  • Battery
  • Reduced (Secondary Fortifications use soldiers or war materials for shelter).
  • Trenches
  • Lines of fortifications
  • Fortini

Classification according to the construction period:

  • Prehistoric fortifications
  • Medieval fortifications (before 1530)
  • Fortifications built by the Knights of Malta (1530 -1798)
  • Fortifications built during the French occupation (1798 -1800)
  • British Fortifications (1800-1979)

Below is a non-exhaustive list of Maltese fortifications. To access the cards (if inserted) click on the name. It is also possible to access the "Visual and interactive database of Maltese Fortifications"

Prehistoric fortifications    

Of the following prehistoric fortifications only small traces remain:
Bahrija                      Rabat
Nuffara                     Hair
Qortin                       St. Paul's Bay
Ras il-Ġebel               Marr
Wardija ta 'San Ġorġ Siggiewi

 Medieval fortifications (before 1530)

Dice Towers

  • Tal-Ghassiewi Tower      Gudja (Arabic)

Fortifications built by the Knights of Malta (1530 -1798)

Fortified Cities

  • Birgu                             Birgu XIII-XVIII century.
  • Citadel                       Victoria Antiquity – 1622
  • Mdina                            Mdina Antiquity – 1746
  • Senglea                          Senglea 1552 - XVIII century.
  • Valletta                          Valletta 1566–1570


Dice Towers




  • Birżebbuġa Entrenchment          Birżebbuġa 1761
  • Għajn Tuffieħa Entrenchment    Marr
  • Louvier Entrenchment               Mellieħa 1761
  • Madliena Entrenchment             Naxxar
  • Naxxar Entrenchment                Naxxar 1722
  • Qawra Point Entrenchment        St. Paul's Bay 1761
  • Qbajjar Entrenchment               Żebbuġ, Gozo
  • Ramla Entrenchment                 Xagħra 1720
  • Saint Julian's Entrenchment       St. Julian's
  • Spinola Entrenchment                St. Julian's 1761
  • Ta 'Kassisu Entrenchment          Mellieħa 1761
  • Xgħajra Entrenchment               Żabbar 1761
  • Xrobb l-Għaġin Entrenchment   Marsaxlokk 1761
  • Żewwieqa Entrenchment            Għajnsielem 1761

British Fortifications (1800-1979)


Dice Towers

Ta 'Kenuna Tower Nadur 1848


Lines of Fortifications

  •  Corradino Lines   Paola 1871–1880
  • Victoria Lines  1875 – 1899 Feet    
    • Rabat,
    • Marr, (shelters)
    • Marr, (sheltered watchpoint)
    • Mosta,
    • Naxxar,
    • Gharghur
  • Cottonera Lines        (Cospicua Birgu) 1670–XNUMXth century. (fortified cities)
  • Floriana Lines           Floriana 1635 - XNUMXth century (fortified cities)
  • Santa Margherita Lines       Cospicua 1638–1736 (fortified cities)
  • Falca Lines                           (Mġarr, St. Paul's Bay) 1723–1732

Your Comments directly from Facebook

You can contribute to this area by providing useful information in order to correct errors or supplement existing content. You can do this through the Fb group  "Malta Social Stream" , by entering your comments below, or by sending your contributions to 



 © Helios Study Center

Maltese fortifications

Share / Share