Baroque of the Val di Noto - Vol. 6: Catania

(Photo © Ignazio Caloggero)

Author: Ignazio Caloggero - ISBN: 9788832060027

Pages: 78 (E-Book pdf) (the book can be downloaded at the same time as the purchase)

Format: Ebook: Pdf, ePub and Kindle (only on Amazon); © 2019 Centro Studi Helios srl

The book is sold in major online book stores including: Amazon, Hoepli,  Mondadoristore, Lafeltrinelli, Libreriarizzoli, IBS, Google Play Books, University Library, Unilibro, Kobo, ebook.euronics; Casadelibro, BokRepublic,, Giunti al Punto and many more. The cost may vary based on the policies of the various stores. It is possible to buy the book in the indicated online shops or directly in our Hermesonline shop 

Go to the Hermesonline store (€ 4,88) and download the ebook


The book is the sixth volume of the series: "Barocco del Val di Noto", photographic and in-depth work on the Baroque of Val di Noto and in particular the baroque of the municipalities included within the UNESCO site “The late Baroque cities of the Val di Noto (south-eastern Sicily)”. The municipalities involved are 8: Noto, Palazzolo Acreide, Scicli, Modica, Ragusa, Militello Val Di Catania, Caltagirone, Catania.

In particular, the sixth volume, of 110 pages, describes the main Baroque monuments of Catania and is illustrated by about 100 images.

For each reported monument, a link is included to the web form of the 3.0 multimedia database created by the Helios “Data Maps Heritage” Study Center. The web page is characterized by the fact that it is georeferenced and therefore visible on an interactive map and with the possibility of identifying the path to reach the monument.

The multivolume work is made up as follows:

  • Vol. 1: Baroque World Heritage Site
  • Vol. 2: Ragusa
  • Vol.3: Modica and Scicli
  • Vol.4: Noto and Palazzolo Acreide
  • Vol.5: Caltagirone and Militello in Val di Catania
  • Vol. 6: Catania

The first volume illustrates the Baroque style, its history and the main Italian and Sicilian characters who have influenced the style which some call the "non-style". In addition, the UNESCO recognition card is illustrated and the difference between monuments and sites actually included in the World Heritage List (World Heritage List).

All the other volumes instead describe, accompanied by a rich photographic documentation (over 700 images), the main monuments testifying to the late Baroque falling in the 8 municipalities interested in UNESCO recognition.

The work “Barocco del Val di Noto precedes 8 tourist and multimedia guides, one for each city affected by UNESCO recognition, where the entire cultural heritage will be described: historical-artistic, naturalistic, archaeological, intangible and enogastronomic heritage. Each guide will also include useful information for tourists, including information on accommodation and catering facilities and tourist services in general.

Discover other published volumes: Editions Centro Studi Helios

Share / Share